The Critters judges and shortlist


When we announced the Critters we were still waiting on a few confirmations, but now we’re very happy to announce our esteemed judging panel for the Critters!

John O’Nolan – WordPress
Sarah Parmenter – You Know Who
Elliot Jay Stocks – 8 Faces
Rob Hawkes – Mozilla
Robert Castelo – Drupal
Dan Oliver – .Net Magazine
Martin Beeby – Microsoft
Matt Brian – The Next Web
Iain Dodsworth – Tweetdeck

We asked these guys to select a shortlist for the awards and we’re very excited to finally announce the shortlist for next week’s Critters. So without further ado, here are the lucky nominees:

Blog of the Year:

Smashing Magazine
A List Apart
HTML5 Doctor

Meme of the Year:

Old Spice Guy
Thom Yorke Dancing

Web we would mate with:

Next Big Thing

Naomi Atkinson
Rob Hawkes
Gav Strange

App of the Year


Open Source Web App


Event of the Year

New Adventures in Web Design
Heart & Sole

Fail of the Year

Launch of Color app
Tumblr downtime
Apple Ping

Win of the Year

Egypt Social Media Uprising
Merton on Chatroulette

In terms of who wins, that’s up to those who are coming down to The Critters next Wednesday. Want to come along? Keep an eye on Ubelly on Twitter to find out how!

Published by Luke

Luke is one of Ubelly’s resident social media guys, occasionally switching hats for a bit of design. He is the in-house meme expert, uses foursquare a little too much and gets hot under the collar when it comes to design, usability and gorgeous code.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>